Anime OPs: My Top 5

Special feature time!
As a hopeless anime addict, in my spare time I decided to compile my top 5 anime opening sequences. Wow. What a task, for someone who’s been watching anime since before they can remember. Well, in  case you haven’t already noticed, I also love music. So this kind of thing was inevitable. Anyway, here we go!

#5: Mobile Suit Gundam 00
“Daybreak’s Bell”

Let’s kick things off with the most legendary band in anime OPs – L’arc en Ciel. Although I am not the most avid Gundam fan out there, I love this opening because of how well the lyrics of the song correlate to the story of the series. It was a match made in heaven.

#4: Loveless
“月のカース”

So I love Loveless. No surprise there.  But the reason I like this OP is because it’s an exciting rock song, a total contrast to the dark aspects of the series. Also, the art is so pretty it’s hard to resist.

#3: Kuroshitsuji
“モノクロのキス”

Sorry for bad quality.
So not only is this song catchy as all getout, the art is just gorgeous. Period. The opening and ending sequences of this anime never cease to amaze me with their beauty.

#2: Ouran High School Host Club
“Sakura Kiss” 

 

KISS KISS FALL IN LOVE! :]
One of the catchiest anime themes I’ve ever heard. Although this opening sort of looks like a yaoi anime, with all its pink and flowers.

#1: Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei
“人として軸がぶれている” 

Despite the superbly disturbing imagery and random Phoenix Wright reference, this opening is my favorite of all time for one reason: IT ROCKS. Nothing beats a hard, aggressive rock song when it comes to anime OPs. (Just you wait and see if that “bure bure bure” line gets in your head)

So there you have it. If you have anything to add on your own favorite opening themes, leave a comment! I’ll be doing another feature on my favorite EDs somewhere along the road as well, so stay tuned for Part Deux.

3 thoughts on “Anime OPs: My Top 5

  1. I definitely love the song by Yui Horie, The Loveless Opening Theme. I also like Hyde’s song Season’s Call from Blood Plus, and the opening theme song from Trinity blood…..Dress, by Buck Tick.

    • Yeah, “Michiyuki” is great too. I’m basically a fan of Loveless in general lol. “SEASON’S CALL” is awesome and one of the reasons I got into Hyde’s music. I’m not familiar with the other one though, as I’ve never seen Trinity Blood. I’ll check it out :]

  2. Definitely have to second (third?) ‘Season’s Call’ from Blood Plus. Love that song.

    I also really like the infamous ‘Colors’ from Code Geass. ‘O2’ was good too.

    Off the top of my head, ‘Platina’ by Maaya Sakamoto from Cardcaptor Sakura (a classic for sure) is also amazing and I really liked ’19 sai’ and ‘Nobody Knows’ from xxxholic by Suga Shikao.

    I tend up liking ED songs more though for some reason….

Leave a Reply

