Anime EDs: My Top 5

Special feature time, part two!
Assuming you all have read the first installment on my top 5 OPs (and to those who have not, you can read it later), I bring you the second section. Compiling these lists are kind of difficult since I’m such a rabid anime whore fan. 
And now, without further ado:

#5: Blood+
“語り継ぐこと”

I won’t lie to you – I didn’t like this song the first time I heard it. Chitose Hajime’s voice, I thought, sounded really weird and it just didn’t sit well with me. But after a few more episodes, it had completely grown on me and now I’m able to appreciate the beauty of the artwork and the uniqueness of Hajime’s voice.

#4: Death Note
“Alumina”

Visual kei isn’t the first thing that comes to mind when you think about Death Note. But somehow it works. It’s just dark and spooky enough to fit the mood of the series. (Not to mention the artwork which is trippy with a capital T)

#3: Nabari no Ou
“あるがまま”

 
What can I say? Pretty acoustic song with tender scenes between the two main characters of this series, Yoite and Miharu. Touching, simple, and beautiful.

#2: Vampire Knight
“Still Doll”

Still, you do not answer.
Even though the series is a total hot mess, I ADORE this ending. The art has a distinctly gothic feel to it, emphasizing the dark elements of the anime. Adding to the creep factor is the song, sung by Kanon Wakeshima who provides both vocals and cello playing. (The credit for production of the song goes to Mana, who did an excellent job creeping it up for us)

#1: Rurouni Kenshin
“Heart of Sword ~夜明け前~”

Rurouni Kenshin is my favorite series of all time. I first watched it during the Toonami block on Cartoon Network in the second grade, and the rest, as they say, is history. That said, this ending resounds in my sentimental little heart as a reminder of the days when anime didn’t have to be complicated by fandom or resemblance to the manga or anything. I simply loved the show. It’s very special to me and even after these years it hasn’t lost its meaning.

And so, the conclusion of part two. Hope you all enjoyed it. Like I stated before in my Top 5 OPs post, if you have any opinions on your own favorite OPs or EDs, don’t hesitate to leave a comment. 

3 thoughts on “Anime EDs: My Top 5

  1. Omg, I love Kataritsugu Koto too. There’s just something about it that makes it really resound with me.

    Not a big fan of Still Doll to be honest, though I do love Suna no Oshiro.

    Hm, other favourite endings… where to begin… I think the first one I remember really loving was Namie Amuro’s ‘Come’ for Inuyasha. ‘Cherish’ from xxxholic Shunmuki had some really lovely vocals from AZU.
    ‘Wind’ and ‘Yellow Moon’ by Akeboshi (Naruto) were both beautiful songs and ‘Sanctuary’ by Maaya Sakamoto (Arjuna) has to be one of the prettiest wistful sounding songs I’ve yet to hear. ‘Over the clouds’ (Hitomi Kuroishi) from Last Exile is also all peaceful and ethereal-sounding. I could go on, but I should probably stop here. ED>OP songs definitely for me.

    • Nice comment! I must admit to loving “Come” as well, though it’s been quite a while since I last saw InuYasha. I haven’t heard any of the others you mentioned, but I’ll definitely look them up. I’m more of an OP person myself, but some of the EDs out there are real gems, which is why I had to make both posts. :]

Leave a Reply

