Single Review: YUI – “It’s all too much / Never say die”

Tracklist:
1. It’s all too much
2. Never say die
3. again ~YUI acoustic version~
4. It’s all too much ~Instrumental~

YUI’s fourteenth single was released on October 7th, 2009. It reached #1 on Oricon and has sold 75,047 copies. Both songs were used in the live-action film Kaiji.

~

I actually really like these covers! I think they’re interesting and unique. The floating cards sort of remind me of Alice in Wonderland, which is pretty cool to me.

It’s all too much is an upbeat, driving prog-rock tune, not unlike YUI’s previous single again only not quite as in-your-face. Even though it’s definitely a rock song, I enjoyed the occasional ballad-esque elements that were added in like strings and light piano. I thought these were pretty cool. I also got more of a chance to appreciate YUI’s vocals since she’s not spitting out a thousand words a minute like she was in again. Overall, I feel like It’s all too much is a really well-put together rock track and I enjoyed it a lot.

The next song, Never say die, is a LOT more pop than its fellow A-side. It retains the same rock feelings but it has a bouncier beat and a sunnier overall sound. For these reasons, I’m not a huge fan of the song as a whole, but from a vocalist’s standpoint I really dig YUI’s control over her voice. I normally wouldn’t describe it as being cute, but the whole vibe of the song combined with YUI’s upbeat performance make it seem that way.

For those who liked again for what it was, again ~YUI acoustic version~ is probably not the best. However, if the original’s forceful bluntness was not your cup of tea, I highly recommend this version. It’s basically what the title infers, plus some new, more reserved vocals from YUI. The result is very pretty and feminine-sounding.

Summary: By this time in her career, YUI has established herself as having a brand of pop-rock that’s all her own. In this single, we get the best of both worlds: a cool song that leans decisively toward YUI’s rock tendencies (It’s all too much) and the oh so rare but nonetheless nice-to-hear-from-time-to-time pop song (Never say die). The only B-side, an acoustic rendition of YUI’s rousing prog-rock single again, is a great addition to the single as well. However, I can’t help but feel a bit unaffected toward the single after hearing it – in  other words, it was unmemorable. Next time, I’d like to hear something truly spectacular.

Single Grade: B+

Leave a Reply

