Single Review: 2PM – “Tik Tok (feat. Yoon Eun Hye)”

Tracklist:
1. Tik Tok (feat. Yoon Eun Hye [윤은혜])

This single was released on January 12, 2010.

Normal cover is normal. No complaints, though.

~

Well, I’ve never reviewed 2PM before on this blog, but since I included them on my end-of-year countdown, and I also happen to really like this song, I’m going to start.

I have to say this is an excellent single. 2PM normally go for a more hip-hop type sound, but Tik Tok is a very contemporary and romantic R&B song. It’s more midtempo, which in turn results in a nice, un-rushed vocal performance, which I really like. Yoon Eun Hye, despite only being featured for a total of 15 seconds after the first chorus, sounds very good and seductive in a feminine way. Her voice contrasts nicely to those of 2PM. The music is very calming and beautiful to listen to as well.

Summary: Perhaps the reason I never got around to reviewing 2PM’s music here on a song for xx is because I sort of felt that their music was good, but in a very similar-sounding way. With Tik Tok, this is no longer true. It’s a really enjoyable track on the whole, and I especially enjoyed Yoon Eun Hye’s part, although it was way too short for my liking. I’ve heard that 2PM’s comeback album, set for an April release, will have a different feel from their debut album, and the logical deduction is that this must be it. Well, let’s just say I hope that that’s the case.

Single Grade: A

Leave a Reply

