Single Review: BENI – “サイン”

Tracklist:
1. サイン (Sign)
2. Gon’ luv u
3. KIRA✩KIRA✩ (DJ HASEBE REMIX)
4. サイン (Instrumental)

This is BENI’s sixth single under the Universal Japan label. It peaked at #50 on the Oricon Weekly Chart and sold 1,596 copies.

This cover is class-ay. I love her hair and outfit. It almost seems like a high-fashion magazine shoot.

~

Oh, wow. サイン is such a pretty song. Like most of BENI’s A-sides since switching to Universal J, it’s an easy R&B song that makes plentiful use of BENI’s lovely voice. I like the fact that this song has a more polished feel than BENI’s previous singles. It’s very mature and womanly. Furthermore, I wasn’t noticing as much of the weird diction/pronunciation that I did with 恋焦がれて and ずっと二人で, which was awesome. BENI’s voice sounds so much better when she’s crisp and clear.

Remember the song Brand New World by Yuna Ito, from her DREAM-era? Well, take that song, make it several times better, and bam. You have Gon’ luv u. Catchy beats, bright synths and a very charming vocal performance by BENI make this a really strong B-side.

I made it no secret that I didn’t like KIRA✩KIRA✩. At all. This hasn’t really changed, but I will admit that the DJ HASEBE remix version is an improvement over the original. I still don’t care for it very much, but it’s not as bad.

Summary: All in all this was a very nice single.. The remix? Eh. I could have done without, but it wasn’t bad. I’m going to have to disagree with what other bloggers have said about being tired of BENI released midtempo songs – with サイン, I didn’t mind at all. After all, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, right?

Single Grade: A-

Leave a Reply

