Single Review: Wonder Girls – “So Hot”

Tracklist:
1. So Hot
2. This Time
3. You’re Out
4. Tell Me (Rap Version)

This single was released on July 3, 2008, and sold 31,840 copies.

Gotta love the insane amount of leopard print going on here. Lol.

~

I think I know the question that’s on everyone’s minds regarding So Hot – is it really hot? The answer is yes, very. Everything about this song exudes sexiness and confidence, from the hand-clap beat to the looping synths. As for the Girls’ vocals – well, they’re not anything groundbreaking, but come on. This is a song about being hot, and all of the Girls manage to pull that part off (especially Yubin’s rap). Overall, this is a perfect dance song, and I recommend it for just that reason.

Okay so, you know that song from The Wonder Years Trilogy, called I Tried? The one I really didn’t like? This Time literally sounds almost identical to that song. I’m serious. I don’t even feel like it would be right to properly review this song because of this, but I will. This Time is a nice song, albeit a bit boring. It really is nothing special. For further elaboration, go see my review of the aforementioned song. It’s all the same stuff anyway.

You’re Out is a funkier take on the R&B song, with some sleazy synths and exaggerated S‘s to its name. I wasn’t really feeling this song when I first heard it, and to be honest, I still am not. The only thing I liked about it was Yubin’s section, which showcased how much flow she really has (Biased? Me? No, of course not, why would you say something like that?). So, yeah. Not digging this song so much.

Tell Me (Rap Version) is almost completely self-explanatory. I’m a big fan of this song to begin with, and I was so sad to find out that the rap version, which is also the version in the music video, wasn’t included on Wonder Girls’ debut album. Aside from Yubin’s rap being really cool, all of the other Girls also showcase some really cute and charming vocals. Definitely check this song out.

Summary: I’m a big WG fan, so it should come as no surprise to most people that I absolutely love the titular song of this single. The B-sides? Not so much. Sorry, J.Y.P. One sounded exactly like another from a different single which would be coming later in Wonder Girls’ career, and another just wasn’t cutting it on a musical level. However, the main song and a slightly reworked version of the song that made the Girls famous were enough to save this single from total failure.

Single Grade: B

2 thoughts on “Single Review: Wonder Girls – “So Hot”

Leave a Reply

