Single Review: BENI – “ユラユラ/ギミギミ♥”

Tracklist:
1. ユラユラ (Yura Yura; Wavering)
1. ギミギミ ♥ (Gimme Gimme ♥)
3. bye bye DJ HASEBE REMIX
4. ユラユラ (Instrumental)
5. ギミギミ♥ (Instrumental)

This is BENI’s eighth single under the Universal Japan label, which was released on May 5, 2010. It peaked at #20 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 5,200 copies. The song ギミギミ♥ was used as the commercial song for Kao Biore Body Deli (lol wtf?).

Extremely pretty covers. I really like her hair!

~

I’m going to start off by saying that I think ユラユラ is a nice song. It’s kind of, like, a girly, upbeat song about breaking up, and it’s got a nice melody and beat. However, as I was listening to it, I couldn’t help but feel like it was a bit…generic? Maybe that’s harsh, but I was strongly reminded of BENI’s previous single bye bye and therefore this newer song didn’t feel as fresh as it was intended to. That’s just my opinion. /shrug

I immediately fell in love with ギミギミ♥. I think it’s probably because school is basically over for me, but I really like the breezy, summery feel of this song. There’s nothing quite like a clapping beat and twinkling synths to get you in the summer mood. I also felt that this song was more musically interesting, since the slow bridge provides a nice contrast to the rest of the song. So basically, of the two new A-sides on this single, I would choose this one, hands down.

BENI has been featuring remixes of her songs by DJ HASEBE for her past couple singles, to varying effects. bye bye DJ HASEBE REMIX turns the original song, bye bye, into a laid-back beach tune. I think this is a nice remix because it’s simple and it doesn’t try to make any drastic changes to the song. The single on the whole, I think, could have done without this remix, but it made a nice addition to this collection of songs.

Summary: It’s been over a month and a half and the album’s out already, but I’m still reviewing this single. xD Overall I think this single was pretty fair. The opening song, ユラユラ, was a little blah for me, but I really liked the simple breeziness of ギミギミ♥. BENI tends to deliver very good singles, and this is no exception. Great single for summer!

Single Grade: B+
Recommended Tracks:
ギミギミ♥

Leave a Reply

