Single Review: Orange Caramel – “The First Mini Album [Magic Girl]”

Tracklist:
1. 마법소녀 (魔法少女) (Magic Girl)
2. 사랑을 미룰 순 없나요 (Can’t We Delay Love)
3.
마법소녀 (魔法少女) (Inst.)
4. 사랑을 미룰 순 없나요(Inst.)

This is the first single from After School’s new sub-unit, Orange Caramel, consisting of Nana, Raina and Lizzy. It was released on June 16, 2010.

The cuteness of this cover makes up for how much I really do not like the name “Orange Caramel.”

~

It took me a while to wrap my head around 마법소녀 (魔法少女) because it’s not exactly your average K-Pop tune. The initial reaction of many fans was to scream “J-Pop!” and either use that as a reason to write it off or love it; I can agree with this to an extent, although I do think this song has some very K-Pop things about it, such as the chorus which is quite catchy. The members for this sub-group were also chosen very well, because between Lizzy’s, Nana’s and Raina’s voices, I think they blend really nicely. Overall, I’d say that this song is a grower: it may take a few listens to catch on, but once it does it’s a pleasure to listen to.

사랑을 미룰 순 없나요 takes on a much more traditional pop sound, with a simple R&B beat and some other mainstream fixings. There’s really not much to say about this song; it’s just… very formulaic. It sounds nice as it showcases the three girls’ voices more, but it truly is an ordinary pop song. That’s about it.

Summary: After listening to these two songs, my thought is that this whole endeavor with supgroups is meant to breathe new life into a group whose fanbase is starting to stagnate a little bit. I mean, these are nice, cute, approachable songs, but I really doubt they’re going to be making waves in K-Pop any time soon. It was a good try, though. Also, since there’s supposed to be another sub-unit made up of all the other members minus Uee, I’m wondering if they’re going to be the complete opposite of Orange Caramel, as in, really edgy and sexy? Hmmm. Who knows. It shall be interesting!

Single Grade: B
Recommended Tracks:
마법소녀 (魔法少女)

2 thoughts on “Single Review: Orange Caramel – “The First Mini Album [Magic Girl]”

  1. Aww man, you don’t like the name Orange Caramel? I think it sounds yummy. lol

    I loved Magic Girl. It was upbeat, cute, and actually memorable which is good because lately all k-pop has sounded the same to me. Great review!

    • Thanks! And I dunno, I like caramel and stuff, but I’ve never really liked oranges or anything orange-flavored. Which is why when I first heard the name Orange Caramel, I was like, “Ewww.” Lol.

Leave a Reply

