A word from the author.

It’s been almost a month since I last reviewed something, and I’m sure some of you are wondering why I’ve pretty much disappeared from this blog. Well, a lot has happened lately, in my life and in the Asian music blogosphere, and I feel like I really owe you guys an explanation. The past month or so has been quite an interesting time for me personally. I got kind of sick in the beginning of July, and subsequently had some problems with anxiety, combined with grief surrounding the two year anniversary of my aunt’s death. For the middle two weeks of July, I had too much going on in my head to even think about reviewing music (which is really a shame, since some great music came out last month).

In addition, I’ve been positively bombarded with schoolwork this summer. I’m signed up for two AP classes for my junior year (English and US History), which means I have to read five books and complete some 100 short-answer questions. Plus I’m doing supplemental work for French, so I’ve got a lot to get done. I feel terrible about neglecting a song for xx, but I honestly don’t think I can justify reviewing when I can be doing work. So please try to be sympathetic.

Lastly, I feel I must address a sad trend that’s been happening amongst J-Pop and K-Pop bloggers. Recently, several excellent blogs have closed their doors, so to speak (Beyond the Sea and Radiant Dawn to name a few), and this makes me sad because these are peers that I really look up to for their work. However, I have to respect their decisions. In case anyone is wondering, I have no immediate plans to close up shop, even though I’m very behind on new releases. No matter how long it takes, I promise to review every single and album that I’ve missed. You can hold me to it.

Well, I think that’s everything. Thanks for the understand and patience, guys, and enjoy the rest of your summer!

~askjeevas

4 thoughts on “A word from the author.

  1. Argh, so sad about those blogs closing. Happy to hear you’re not thinking of doing the same. Keep up the good work, and looking forward to seeing your future reviews when you are able to write them ^^

  2. Hope everything’s fine now…I know how it feels when life gets too hectic right now mine’s insane! I will try to blog in my Christmas holidays though. Anyway glad you’re still around blogging. Keep up the awesome work! Take care of yourself🙂

Leave a Reply

