Single Review: U-KISS – “Tick Tack”

This is U-KISS’s first Japanese single since debuting in Japan under Avex Trax records. It was released on December 14, 2011 and peaked at #5 on the Oricon Weekly Singles Chart.

I quite like this cover. The styling is nice, the color scheme matches the mood of the single and video, and it reminds me of something I’d see from one of Japan’s more popular boy bands, like Arashi or KAT-TUN. So it’s not bad.

~

I have to give it to U-KISS for bringing me my catchy jam of late 2011/early 2012. Tick Tack (pronounced ‘tick tock’ if you’re as confused as I was) is a fantastic, dark dance track, and I have to admit I wasn’t expecting something this good from U-KISS. For starters, this song has a lot of strong points, one of them being the high production value. The boys of U-KISS are all strong vocalists, and they really benefit from the quality of the instrumental. Second, I really enjoyed the repetition of the “Tonight I shall be…” phrase and all its variations, as it goes beyond the typical meaningless stock English phrases that plague K-Pop and J-Pop. The main drawback of this song would probably be the members’ pronunciation of the lyrics, which could use some work. This seems to be common in Korean groups debuting in Japan, so it’s not that big of a deal. I was actually able to understand most of the lyrics, it’s just that their accents were pretty noticeable. Thankfully, they seem to be working really hard at it, so their Japanese should be up to par in no time! Overall I think this is a great song, certainly perfect for their official Japanese debut.

I was pleasantly surprised by Coincidence because I wasn’t expecting the B-side of this single to be as good as the A-side. Similar to Tick Tack, this is an upbeat dance song with a strong chorus and high production value. Also similar to the title track, the boys’ accents are strong on this one, especially in the rap verses. People who don’t speak Japanese probably won’t be bothered by this, though. Honestly though, this song is so catchy that the accents don’t even change much.

The single also includes instrumental versions of both songs.

Summary: I’ve always liked U-KISS, but I never really got around to reviewing their music. I figured this single was the perfect place to start, what with it marking their official debut in Japan. Honestly, I see a big improvement in the quality in U-KISS’s music from the early stage of their career to right now, and it pleases me. This single, short and sweet, contains two very quality tracks that showcases the talent of all the members and, I’m sure, will help them find success in this new chapter of their career.

Single Grade: A+

Recommended Tracks:
Tick Tack
| Coincidence

Leave a Reply

